In a statement, WhatsApp confirmed that no users will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality on May 15 because of this update.
Facebook that owns the messaging service earlier stated that they would make the accounts inaccessible completely if the users choose not to comply with the data-sharing agreement and opt not to have their WhatsApp account information shared with Facebook.
WhatsApp said that the users won’t be able to access their chat list, but they can still answer incoming phone and video calls. For those who have notifications enabled, can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call.
Ultimately, users who do not agree to the revised terms even after a few weeks of limited functionality will be prevented from receiving incoming calls or notifications, as well as messages to their devices.
Accounts rendered inactive in the process, that is the users not connected to WhatsApp — are expected to be deleted after 120 days, according to its standard policy for removing inactive accounts from its platform for privacy and security reasons.
WhatsApp has since clarified that the update does not implies that they will share personal user chats or other profile information with Facebook and is instead simply providing further transparency about how user data is collected and shared when using the app to interact with businesses.